Home / Tag Archives: book reviews

Tag Archives: book reviews

[Review] The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

5 stars – Holly Black is best known for the children’s series, The Spiderwick Chronicles.  Her latest, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, released last fall, is classified as a YA novel, but it’s one of the smartest, most sophisticated YA novel I’ve ever read—not to mention one of the sexiest. Black, in her acknowledgments, notes that she’s a lifelong fan ... Read More »

[Review] Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

flowers in the attic banner

Before the Internet gave us wincest, V.C. Andrews’ novels could always be counted upon to give us innumerable hot and forbidden pairings amidst those who share a family tree, in any number of permutations: brother/sister, uncle/niece, step-father/step-daughter.  Though Andrews herself passed away in 1986, over twenty series are now in publication under her name.  Only the first two, the Dollanganger ... Read More »

ARC [Review] DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells

dirty magic banner

DIRTY MAGIC Jaye Wells Series: Prospero’s War #1 audience: adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Orbit Date: January 21, 2014 Acquired: author Reviews of the books I love are the hardest to write of all. I have to keep a lid on the fan-girl long enough to write something coherent about the book, and yet I don’t want to keep the ... Read More »

[Review] WHITE CAT by Holly Black

white cat banner

WHITE CAT Holly Black Series: The Curse Workers #1 audience: teen/adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Margaret K. McElderrly Books Date: 2010 Acquired: Library Years ago I read Holly Black’s Tithe, and although it was flawed in many of the ways every author’s first novel is flawed, I loved it. Holly Black writes with grit that gets under your skin and ... Read More »

[Review] Affairs of the Dead by A.J. Locke

affairs of the dead banner

Fans of Anita Blake and Harry Dresden should enjoy Affairs of the Dead, by A.J. Locke.  Affairs lays the groundwork for what promises to be an exciting series about a sexy necromancer named Selene Vanream. With very little fuss and fanfare, Locke plunges us into Selene’s world that, like all urban fantasy, looks very much like our own—except here, ghosts ... Read More »

ARC [Review] WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? by Ylvis

Ylvis what does the fox say

WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? Ylvis audience: children (ages 4-8) genre: picture book Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, hardcover, 32 pages Date: December 10, 2013 Acquired: Edelweiss You’ve seen the viral video, now the hunt for that elusive fox can be read to your child over and over and over. Summary: Do you know what the fox says? Based on ... Read More »

[Review] REAP by Christina Channelle

Reap Book Cover

Although only novella length fiction, REAP is told in three parts. In part one a girl wakes with no memory of who she is or where she came from. She also can’t speak. She is in a dystopian world where girls can’t go outside for if they do, they are kidnapped or killed. She finds she’s in an apartment with ... Read More »

[Review] A Thousand Perfect Things by Kay Kenyon

Kenyon Kay A Thousand Perfect Things

“. . . should a thousand perfect things ever be found, the world would end.  Therefore to preserve the world, Rama declared that every manifested thing should have a flaw.” Such is the crux of A Thousand Perfect Things, the latest novel by award-winning sci-fi/fantasy author Kay Kenyon—a sweet irony, since Kenyon has brought us a flawless work.  Rich, complex ... Read More »

[Review] WONDROUS STRANGE by Lesley Livingston

Livingston Lesley Wondrous Strange

WONDROUS STRANGE Lesley Livingston Series:  Wonderous Strange #1 audience: Teen genre: urban fantasy I wish I loved this book. There’s a lot about it I really enjoyed: Shakespeare, fairies in New York, Livingston’s down-to-earth and humorous style. But the story is slowed by backstory and explanation, which ultimately delayed me from liking the characters and getting into the story. Previously ... Read More »

ARC [Review] SHADOWDANCE by Kristen Callihan

shadowdance banner

SHADOWDANCE Kristen Callihan Series: Darkest London #4 audience: adult genre: historical paranormal romance; gaslamp fantasy; clockwork fantasy Kristin Callihan has really hit her stride in the Darkest London series. In this fourth instalment, she finally gets to Jack Talent’s story and pairs him in a romance with Mary Chase. Mary Chase is a Ghost In The Machine (GIM). This means ... Read More »

[Review] UNFINISHED BUSINESS by Carolyn Ridder Apsenson

Unfinished Business

UNFINISHED BUSINESS Carolyn Aspenson Audience: adult Genre: paranormal Fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series will enjoy Unfinished Business. Imagine Stephanie Plum as a soccer mom and housewife being haunted by the ghost of Grandma Mazur, and you’d have the basic premise of Unfinished Business. Angela Panther’s mother just died, but she wouldn’t know it. Her mother’s ghost appears and ... Read More »

[Review] Crazy Ex-Ghoulfriend by Angela Roquet

Ends November 9

Crazy Ex-Ghoulfriend Angela Roquet Audience: young adult Genre: urban fantasy With a title like Crazy Ex-Ghoulfriend, I expected the story to be told from the boyfriend’s perspective. And given the cover, I expected the storytelling style to be more flamboyant, the characters to be more caricatures. Not that there aren’t laughs– there were many giggle-worthy moments– but the writing is ... Read More »

[Review] First Bite by Dani Harper

Harper Dani First Bite

First Bite Dani Harper Series: The Dark Wolf series #1 I can’t resist werewolf stories. I don’t know what it is about them that draws me in like a wolf pup to a full moon, but when one crosses my desk I have to take a look. FIRST BITE opens with Neva (Geneva) looming at the top of a cliff, ... Read More »

[Review] SINS OF THE ANGELS by Linda Poitevin

Sins of the Angels COVER

Sins of the Angels Linda Poitevin Series: Grigori Legacy #1 SINS OF THE ANGELS sees Toronto homicide detective Alexandra Jarvis paired with a new partner, Jacob Trent, in the middle of investigating serial killings. Jacob Trent is more than he seems. He’s Aramael, a Power, a hunter of the Fallen Angels, and he’s hunting the serial killer who happens to ... Read More »

[Review] A Touch of Darkness by Yelena Casale and Tina Moss

a touch of darkness

A Touch of Darkness Yelena Casale and Tina Moss Series:  Key series, #1 I’m a sucker for angels and demons, so of course I picked up A Touch of Darkness, Book I of the new Key series, and the first team-writing effort by Casale and Moss.  A Touch of Darkness is a steamy, fast-paced paranormal that doesn’t take itself too ... Read More »

[Review] Blood Relations by Caroline Frechette

frechette caroline blood relations

Blood Relations Caroline Frechette Series: Family by Choice I wanted to like Blood Relations. I really did. For one, the author is Canadian and I have a soft spot for Canadian genre writers. For another, I liked the premise: Life has not been easy for Alex Winters since he used his Pyrokinetic powers to take control of the Russian district. ... Read More »

[Review] MY SOUL TO SAVE by Rachel Vincent

vincent rachel soul screamers volume one

My Soul to Save Rachel Vincent Series: Soul Screamers, #2 (Other Reviews: My Soul to Take) In this second book in the series, the Bean Sidhe crew (Kaylee, Todd and Nash) discover a pop starlet has sold her soul to a devil to achieve her fame and fortune. Literally. The girl has no soul. So Kaylee tries to save her. ... Read More »

[Review] Omens by Kelley Armstrong

armstrong omens

OMENS Kelley Armstrong series: Cainsville #1 Olivia Taylor-Jones is living the high life: daughter of wealthy parents, fiancé to a handsome, loving man. She has it so good she doesn’t have to work for a living; she volunteers at a women’s shelter. But that all changes when her true past is revealed. Turns out she’s adopted. Her biological parents are ... Read More »

ARC [Review] Dead Set by Richard Kadrey

kadrey richard dead set

Dead Set Richard Kadrey As a fan of the Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim novels, I jumped at the chance to pick up a copy of his newest novel, a YA horror/fantasy called Dead Set. If Neil Gaiman and Chuck Palahniuk had a love child, it would look something like Dead Set.  A young heroine has been dropped into a Gaiman ... Read More »

[Review] Lunula by Alyssa Auch

Lunula font 2c

Lunula Alyssa Auch Summary: The witch knows he will hunt her. If history repeats itself, as it always does, Wynn will have no choice but to cross paths with her feared counterpart, the warlock. If given the chance, he would kill Wynn, absorbing her aura and obtaining ultimate power. In a desperate attempt to outrun destiny, Wynn moves from place to ... Read More »

[Review] Heart of Venom by Jennifer Estep

estep jennifer heart of venom

HEART OF VENOM Jennifer Estep Heart of Venom is the latest book in Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassins series. Her main character is barbeque-cooking assassin Gin Blanco. By day Gin is the owner and proprietor of a barbeque joint, and by night she is one of the deadliest assassins in her hometown of Ashland. Dubbed the Spider for her patience, Gin ... Read More »

ARC [Review] Rag & Bones: New Twists on Timeless Tales

rag and bones

Rag & Bones: New Twists on Timeless Tales Edited by Melissa Marr and Tim Pratt Rag and Bones is a delightful collection.  It contains an even dozen of stories by such authors as Neil Gaiman, Margaret Stohl, and Carrie Ryan; Marr and Pratt each have contributed a story as well.  As the title implies, these authors offer a fresh riff ... Read More »

[Review] MY SOUL TO TAKE by Rachel Vincent

vincent rachel my soul to take

MY SOUL TO TAKE Rachel Vincent [Note: I read the prequel novella "My Soul To Lose" prior to reading MY SOUL TO TAKE, and I recommend you do as well. The novella covers an important time in Kaylee's life, and which is mentioned in MY SOUL TO TAKE. In fact, I would say the novella is more of a prologue ... Read More »