• Interrogate the Author starring Jaye Wells! And Dirty Magic!

    Interrogate the Author starring Jaye Wells! And Dirty Magic!

    Vicki Pettersson described DIRTY MAGIC as having “a magical world so fully realized, and so gritty, it gets under your nails“, and I agree. You can see my full review here. When I was given the opportunity to interview interrogate Jaye, o...

  • [Review] Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

    [Review] Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

    Before the Internet gave us wincest, V.C. Andrews’ novels could always be counted upon to give us innumerable hot and forbidden pairings amidst those who share a family tree, in any number of permutations: brother/sister, uncle/niece, step-father/ste...

  • ARC [Review] DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells

    ARC [Review] DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells

    DIRTY MAGIC Jaye Wells Series: Prospero’s War #1 audience: adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Orbit Date: January 21, 2014 Acquired: author Reviews of the books I love are the hardest to write of all. I have to keep a lid on the fan-girl lon...

  • [Review] WHITE CAT by Holly Black

    [Review] WHITE CAT by Holly Black

    WHITE CAT Holly Black Series: The Curse Workers #1 audience: teen/adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Margaret K. McElderrly Books Date: 2010 Acquired: Library Years ago I read Holly Black’s Tithe, and although it was flawed in many of the wa...

  • ARC [Review] Red Rising by Pierce Brown

    ARC [Review] Red Rising by Pierce Brown

    There is a lot of talk about Pierce Brown’s yet-to-be-released first novel. I was given an advance copy of Red Rising at a convention in October, and told it was “the next Hunger Games.” Despite my interest, it sat on my shelf next to a large stack o...

Recent Posts

[Review] The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

5 stars – Holly Black is best known for the children’s series, The Spiderwick Chronicles.  Her latest, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, released last fall, is classified as a YA novel, but it’s one of the smartest, most sophisticated YA novel I’ve ever read—not to mention one of the sexiest. Black, in her acknowledgments, notes that she’s a lifelong fan ... Read More »

Interrogate the Author starring Jaye Wells! And Dirty Magic!

dirty magic interview banner

Vicki Pettersson described DIRTY MAGIC as having “a magical world so fully realized, and so gritty, it gets under your nails“, and I agree. You can see my full review here. When I was given the opportunity to interview interrogate Jaye, of course I had to say yes. After all, that’s part of what we do here. But beyond that, there’s ... Read More »

[Review] Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

flowers in the attic banner

Before the Internet gave us wincest, V.C. Andrews’ novels could always be counted upon to give us innumerable hot and forbidden pairings amidst those who share a family tree, in any number of permutations: brother/sister, uncle/niece, step-father/step-daughter.  Though Andrews herself passed away in 1986, over twenty series are now in publication under her name.  Only the first two, the Dollanganger ... Read More »

Children’s Authors Read Their Bad Reviews [Video]

I was once asked in a job interview “What’s the best thing about the Internet?” My reply: “That anyone can post anything.” I was then asked “What’s the worst thing about the Internet?” My reply was the same, “That anyone can post anything.” Book reviews are prime example of this. It’s great that people read books and have opinions, but ... Read More »

ARC [Review] DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells

dirty magic banner

DIRTY MAGIC Jaye Wells Series: Prospero’s War #1 audience: adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Orbit Date: January 21, 2014 Acquired: author Reviews of the books I love are the hardest to write of all. I have to keep a lid on the fan-girl long enough to write something coherent about the book, and yet I don’t want to keep the ... Read More »

Seeing Double: Two covers, same art. Doh!

So I was cruising through NetGalley this morning when I stumbled upon this face-palm:   Two different books, aimed at two different audiences– same photo used for both. How do you feel about this? Does it bother you to see the same photo used for multiple covers? Does it keep you from remembering if you’ve read the book or not? Read More »

Pre-Order DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells and you could win a necklace!

Pre-order DIRTY MAGIC and enter for the chance to win this killer prize! The city of Babylon has a drug problem, and it’s up to the MEA to contain it. In this world, drugs are made more dangerous by their magical properties—and so are the drug-dealers. Pre-order DIRTY MAGIC by Jaye Wells and you could be eligible to receive a ... Read More »

[Review] WHITE CAT by Holly Black

white cat banner

WHITE CAT Holly Black Series: The Curse Workers #1 audience: teen/adult genre: urban fantasy Publisher: Margaret K. McElderrly Books Date: 2010 Acquired: Library Years ago I read Holly Black’s Tithe, and although it was flawed in many of the ways every author’s first novel is flawed, I loved it. Holly Black writes with grit that gets under your skin and ... Read More »

ARC [Review] Red Rising by Pierce Brown

red rising banner

There is a lot of talk about Pierce Brown’s yet-to-be-released first novel. I was given an advance copy of Red Rising at a convention in October, and told it was “the next Hunger Games.” Despite my interest, it sat on my shelf next to a large stack of other ARCs and samples I had been given. I finally decided to ... Read More »

[Indie Power] Immortal Revenge by Mary Abshire (with Giveaway!)

immortalrevenge

Immortal Revenge Mary Abshire Genre: Urban fantasy Pages: 288 Isbn: 9781616504939 About the Book: Grief stricken Katie Dillinger is on a mission to claim revenge for the death of her lover. In a race against time to find the murderer, Katie reaches out to Riker, a man listed as her boyfriend’s emergency contact. The cold-hearted man comes to Katie’s aid, but ... Read More »

[Review] The Spider by Jennifer Estep

the spider banner

Last time we left Gin Blanco, Ashland’s most notorious assassin, she was rescuing a friend from being kidnapped in Heart of Venom, the ninth book in Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series. Book number 10, The Spider, is scheduled for release on December 24th and it takes us back in time to hear a story from Gin’s early days as an ... Read More »

[Review] Affairs of the Dead by A.J. Locke

affairs of the dead banner

Fans of Anita Blake and Harry Dresden should enjoy Affairs of the Dead, by A.J. Locke.  Affairs lays the groundwork for what promises to be an exciting series about a sexy necromancer named Selene Vanream. With very little fuss and fanfare, Locke plunges us into Selene’s world that, like all urban fantasy, looks very much like our own—except here, ghosts ... Read More »

[Review] Undertow by K.R. Conway (and Giveaway!)

UNDERTOW cover for banner

Review coming soon! Undertow (Undertow #1) by K.R. Conway Release Date: 10/18/13 Summary from Goodreads: High school senior Eila Walker knows that good luck skips over her like an Easter Bunny on Speed. So when she inherits her grandmother’s million-dollar Cape Cod home, she is downright shocked. And yeah, her new town isn’t perfect: the cheerleaders are heinous clones, the local undertow ... Read More »

[Cover Art] Seeing Double: Firelight and Heart of Iron

McMaster Bec Heart of Iron

There’s something kind of similiar about these two covers: FIRELIGHT Kristen Callihan Darkest London #1 see our review here Miranda Ellis is a woman tormented. Plagued since birth by a strange and powerful gift, she has spent her entire life struggling to control her exceptional abilities. Yet one innocent but irreversible mistake has left her family’s fortune decimated and forced ... Read More »

Catching up with Sleepy Hollow: episode 109: Sanctuary

sleepy hollow

SLEEPY HOLLOW 1.09 Sanctuary I’m loving Sleepy Hollow! The show is really hitting its stride. This week we saw a return to witchcraft (finally!) as Katrina’s storyline was continued and intertwined with the demon, Moloch, in this Thanksgiving episode. By the end of the show we got another intersection, further tightening of the ties between Abbie Mills and Ichabod Crane. ... Read More »

ARC [Review] WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? by Ylvis

Ylvis what does the fox say

WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? Ylvis audience: children (ages 4-8) genre: picture book Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, hardcover, 32 pages Date: December 10, 2013 Acquired: Edelweiss You’ve seen the viral video, now the hunt for that elusive fox can be read to your child over and over and over. Summary: Do you know what the fox says? Based on ... Read More »

Announcing Book Editing Services

icon 300 with tears

Ready to publish that novel? Want someone to take one more look at it? I’ve reviewed hundreds of novels, a good deal of them self-published, and nearly all of them could have used one more pair of eyes. Beta Reading Services – $10 Full read of up to 60,000 words with write-up provided to author indicating changes that will improve ... Read More »

[Hot Topic] Once Again No Sign of World Book Night in Canada

WBN2014_logo_672x652

World Book Night is a celebration of the love of reading. It is an opportunity to gift the love of reading to reluctant readers by giving away free books. It’s celebrated annually in the UK and US on April 23. But not at all in Canada. Even Canada Book Day has fallen by the wayside. I’ve written about this topic ... Read More »